Historical Preservation Commission


The Lexington Historical Preservation Commission (HPC) preserves Lexington's historical assets, educates the public about historic preservation methods, and functions as a regulatory board. The HPC's goal is to preserve the integrity of the exteriors of properties in the four historic districts in Lexington. The HPC also reviews and approves nominations of properties to the National Register of Historic Places. Lexington's HPC was sanctioned by the State of Missouri in 2000. The City of Lexington enacted a historic preservation ordinance and is committed to the enforcement of Lexington's historic preservation laws.

Board Members:

Greg Nitcher Chairman
Michelle Simpson
Susan Kirkpatrick
Larry Thomas
Brant Neer
Bob Heggestad


Historical Preservation Commission meetings are held at 7:00 p.m. on the fourth Monday of each month at City Hall.